CE Pro’s Jason Knott Receives CTA Smart Home Leadership Award

*Originally published on CEPro.com

Consumer Technology Association’s Smart Home Division has recognized CE Pro editor Jason Knott as its 2021 Leadership Award recipient.

The Consumer Technology Association (CTA) has named CE Pro editor Jason Knott as the recipient of its 2021 Smart Home Division Leadership Award.

Each year, CTA presents the Smart Home Leadership Award to an individual who has made significant contributions to the growth and success of the smart home industry and shows continued dedication and service to the consumer tech industry.

From 1990 to 2000, Knott served as editor and publisher of Security Sales & Integration, focusing on the electronic security industry and what at that time was a fledgling market called “home automation.” During that time, he served for four years as chairman of the Security Industry Association’s Education Committee and sat on the board of that association, as well as on the board of the Alarm Industry Research and Educational Foundation.

In 2000, he joined EH Publishing as Editor-in-Chief of CE Pro. Throughout the past 20 years, he has stewarded CE Pro to be the leading information resource for the smart home integration industry, working as the liaison with CTA for the CTA Smart Home Division’s Mark of Excellence Awards program. Knott has been a member of the CEDIA Business Working Group since 2010. In 2018, he assumed the title of Chief Content Officer for the entire Connected Brands group of publications and websites at Emerald Expositions, which include CE Pro, Commercial Integrator, Security Sales & Integration, Campus Safety, and TechDecisions.

“I am truly humbled and honored to receive this recognition. Everyone who knows me realizes that it is not in my nature to seek out the spotlight,” says Knott. “I have to credit the entire team at CE Pro for this recognition, both past and present. This accolade would not be possible without key contributions from Julie Jacobson and Ken Moyes at EH Publishing. Today, my cohorts Arlen Schweiger, Bob Archer, Andrew Nichols, Katie Stockham, Graeme Burke, Ray Lyons, Shawn Tobin, Chelsea Cafiero and Katie Malafronte, as well the entire support teams, are invaluable to our success. I want to thank CTA personally for this honor. Working with the association’s team for the past 20 years on the Mark of Excellence Awards has been great.”

Knott says the most rewarding part of being part of the custom electronics industry is when he receives feedback from integrators about how CE Pro has helped their business become more successful.

“I hope in some way this award helps validate CE Pro’s role in the smart home industry,” he adds. “These days, it is difficult to be labeled as ‘media’ due to all the bias and muckraking we all see in the general media. I have always attempted to stay ‘above the fray’ and maintain a high level of professionalism and integrity. It’s rewarding for me to see my work ethic rewarded.”

Knott’s Peers and Cohorts React

Knott’s peers chimed in on his recognition. Julie Jacobson, founding editor of CE Pro and the 2014 Leadership Award recipient, has known Knott since his days as editor of Security Sales & Integration. She “hounded Jason relentlessly” to join CE Pro, which he eventually did in 2000.

“Jason is truly deserving of this award. His passion for the custom integrator business is undeniable.”

— Jim Lind, Nebraska Furniture Mart

“No one but us insiders will ever know how much he does for the company … with such skill and grace,” she says. “But everyone else undoubtedly appreciates how much he has contributed to the industry. He sits on boards, evangelizes the channel, elevates dealers and other constituents, educates and entertains with a sick amount of honest content, and somehow finds the time and energy to visit 100 companies and 5,000 dealers at any given tradeshow … following up as promised after the event. We at Emerald (previously EH Publishing) have waited patiently — ok, very impatiently — for Jason to reap the industry honors he so richly deserves,” she adds.

1998 Leadership Award recipient Ken Moyes, president of EH Publishing, the original publishers of CE Pro, notes, “Jason does great reporting, provides great leadership, and gives great insights to the huge number of integrators, and he gets involved in all aspects of the industry with CTA, CEDIA and more. He is unselfishly involved and gives awesome advice and work to all. I am grateful to have been able to work with Jason, learn from him and him from me — and also see the impact he has had on so many lives, most importantly out integrator audiences, but just as important on his family and his team, including me.”

Scott Goldfine, longtime editor-in-chief of Security Sales & Integration, a sister publication of CE Pro, comments, “As someone who has worked with and built a friendship with Jason over more than two decades, I can testify to his tireless work ethic, depth of industry knowledge, professionalism, leadership, willingness to help others, strong character, likeability and quirky sense of humor. His careerlong efforts and results have added exceptional value to not only the low-voltage electronics industries of custom home and security systems integration but also to the media brands he has served.”

Jim Lind, the chair of the Smart Home Division last year, notes, “Jason is truly deserving of this award. His passion for the custom integrator business is undeniable. I have had the pleasure of working with Jason over the past several years as part of the CE Pro/Total Tech events and his relentless support of the industry has been an inspiration.”

Past CTA Leadership Award Winners

Shawn Hansson, Logic Integration (2020)

David Kaplan, Blue Salve Consulting (2019)

Helen Heneveld, Bedrock Learning (2018)

Dan Fulmer, Fultech Solutions (2017)

Avi Rosenthal, Nortek Security and Control (2016)

Eric Bodley, Bodley & Associates (2015)

Julie Jacobson, CE Pro/EH Publishing (2014)

Michael Pope, Audio Video Interiors (2013)

Walt Zerbe, Legrand (2012)

Roland Graham, HDHomes.TV (2011)

Ric Johnson, Elite Systems Solutions (2010)

Ian Hendler, Leviton Manufacturing Co. (2009)

David Rodarte, NuVo Technologies LLC (2008)

Bill Maronet, ETC Inc. (2007)

Tom Callahan, Sawyers Control Systems (2006)

David Hanchette, OnQ/Legrand (2005)

Peter Hoagland, BG Corp. (2004)

Duane Paulson, Sequel Technologies LLC (2003)

Richard Scholl, Worthington Distribution (2002)

John Galante, EH Publishing Inc. (2001)

Ken Kerr, Home Controls Inc. (2000)

Jay McLellan, Home Automation Inc. (1999)

Ken Moyes, EH Publishing Inc. (1998)

Joe Freeman, J. P. Laboratories LLC (1997)

Doug Fikse, On-Q Home (1996)

Mark Hollcraft, Leviton Manufacturing Co. (1995)

Pete Lesser, X10 (USA) Inc. (1994)

Bill Scheffler, Zensys Inc. (1994)

Dave Rye, X10 (USA) Inc. (1994)